Information Security Risk Assessment

UEI-Technology recommends that companies or organizations conduct regular risk assessments not only to ensure business continuity but also to verify that their expenditures are providing a high return on investment.

Risk assessments are becoming more and more complex, as the risk environment is rapidly evolving. Because of new risk factors that appear regularly, IT security professionals must constantly identify and address any new vulnerabilities.

With this need to regularly assess risk, it is imperative that organizations have a strong risk assessment plan and methodology that addresses the assets, their value, the business processes that rely on them, the organization’s risk appetite, and risk mitigation options.

UEI-Technology offers a comprehensive information security risk assessment, which is designed to expose and quantify information and data security risk. This allows your company or organization to set risk tolerance thresholds that make it possible to determine where you spend money to mitigate threat or accept level during business operations.

UEI-Technology will map the requirements to many different security standards including NIST CSF, ISO 27000-1, FFIEC, NCUA, GLBA, FISMA, HIPAA, and HITRUST.

The assessment that UEI-Technology analysts and experts conduct consists of a thorough evaluation of risks within the following four control phases: Administrative Controls, Physical Controls, Internal Technical Controls, and External Technical Controls.

The 7 Steps of a Successful Risk Assessment that UEI-Technology follows are:

Step 1: Identify Your Information Assets.

Step 2: Identify the Asset Owners.

Step 3: Identify Risks to Confidentiality, Integrity, and Availability of the Information Assets.

Step 4: Identify the Risk Owners

Step 5: Analyze the Identified Risks andAssess the Likelihood and Potential Impact if the Risk Were to Materialize

Step 6: Determine the Levels of Risk

Step 7: Prioritize the Analyzed Risks for Treatment