NIST Compliance

NIST is the National Institute of Standards and Technology, a unit of the U.S. Commerce Department. Formerly known as the National Bureau of Standards, NIST promotes and maintains measurement standards. It also has active programs for encouraging and assisting industry and science to develop and use these standards to meet compliance.

NIST Cyber Security Framework (CSF) guidance provides the set of standards for recommended security controls for information systems at federal agencies. In many cases, complying with NIST guidelines and recommendations will help federal agencies ensure compliance with other regulations, such as HIPAA, FISMA, or SOX


The Requirements of NIST Compliance are as follows:

  • Step 1: Create a NIST Compliance Risk Management Assessment. NIST 800-53 outlines precise controls as well as supplemental guidance to help create an appropriate risk assessment.
  • Step 2: Create NIST Compliant Access Controls.
  • Step 3: Prepare to manage audit documentation.

In addition to helping you company to meet the above requirements, experienced UEI-Technology experts and analysts will help your company to use and meet five security concurrent and continuous functions, which consist of : Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond and Recover.

The 7 Steps of successful Risk Assessment that UEI

  • Define your risk assessment methodology. ISO 27001 doesn't prescribe a single, set way to perform a risk assessment.
  • Compile a list of your information assets.
  • Identify threats and vulnerabilities.
  • Evaluate risks.
  • Mitigate the risks.
  • Compile risk reports.
  • Review, monitor and audit.